Showing posts with label marketing gimmick. Show all posts
Showing posts with label marketing gimmick. Show all posts

Thursday, 6 June 2013

Iwantrevange : True story or just a marketing gimmick?

So I came across a blog that was trending on Facebook:
(Yeah, it's about a Singaporean guy who is all out to seek for revenge after he found out that his wife has was cheating on him.)


Well, I do admit that it was a good read... But I can't shake of the feeling that everything seems more like a marketing ploy.

This is what I call a form of Guerrilla Marketing -  an advertising strategy that focuses on low-cost unconventional marketing tactics that yield maximum results.

(I'm really sorry if this is a true story! It just feels a bit too.. dramatic)
There were certain parts that he kept emphasizing on the mobile phone software.

See this:

First of all, why the heck would the author emphasize on the software and even created a special tab called "Track My Cheating Wife" just so he can mention about the software? (He even hyperlinked it to the software's main site, that makes it all the more suspicious!)

I understand if he is trying to give credit, BUT it isn't a necessity because the software isn't free. So why in the world will someone advertise if he/she is a paying customer?

Suspicious Point #1:
Observe the top left hand corner of the bar. (it is highlighted in small red font)


Upon enlarging the screen, it is believed that the username is stated as "Tina".
Why would A GUY use such a name for his account? (Unless he is trying to hide his identity just in case he gets discovered, which can be a plausible reason.)


Another suspicious point #2 but not entirely plausible:
- I noticed that all the interaction was SMS-based. With data plan a common thing nowadays, it is a bit surprising that they are not communicating using some online tools such as Whatsapp, Line or Wechat since it's so much faster. Unless they are more of the older generation.

Suspicious point #3:
Found a wordpress site that purely advertises about the application. Hence, I believe this is created by the company:
http://handphonespyapp.wordpress.com/author/handphonespyapp/

Interesting how it bears a resemblance to (Of all platforms, both are using Wordpress. WHY not blogger.com instead? )
www.iwantrevange.wordpress.com


Suspicious point #4:
I decided to do a WHOIS checkup of the company's website.
http://www.woorank.com/en/www/handphonespy.com


It is stated that the website was created 4 months 19 Days ago.
In other words, this means that the company is relatively new... And I will not be surprised if they are using this marketing gimmick to gain more exposure.


Now... Just as I was about to conclude this, I discovered another suspicious point...
THE TIMING DOES  NOT TALLY AT ALL!

Observe the date of the posts that contain screenshots.
It shows 16th May 2013



Now..Zoom in to the screenshot that the author posted.
It states 17th May 2013.



How in the world is he able to "predict" and know about the SMS exchanges ONE DAY BEFORE? If this article were to be posted on 18th May 2013, I would still say it's believable. BUT one day before? That is a big loophole.
It's just like he can predict those SMS exchanges in advance. LOL!

Okay, I think I am being a no-lifer trying to dig into this since it's none of my business. But well.. #justsaying.


Hmm.. Consider it a marketing strategy . Don't you think it's kinda successful? With the Wordpress site surfacing on Facebook and people talking about it, HandphoneSpy sure has gained its maximum exposure within this short time frame.

True story, or not? You decide.